20 April 2018

Meaning of Gemstones Part 2

A few weeks ago I made a post about different gemstones how they can be used, which powers they're said to have. The gems I mentioned in the last post were Berg Crystal, Rose Quartz, Amethyst, Jaspis, Hematite, Jade, Shungite, Pyrit, Salt Crystal and Tiger Eye.

Eleven More Gemstones

Since I still have eleven more gemstones on my list, I'm gonna go through these talking a little about them how they work, what is believed they do or what meaning is attached to them.

Again just like the last post. If we want to use gems for our rituals or any other purpose we need to know what energies they contain or which abilities they're told to have. This will determine in which rituals or magic they're gonna help the most.

So let's go through the list, today we're doing...
  • Agate
  • Chalcedon
  • Aventurin
  • Carnelian
  • Bernstein
  • Obsidian
  • Orthoceras
  • Rhodonite
  • Howlite
  • Calcite
  • Fluorite

Green Achat

The agate is a gemstone that has the best effect on the solar plexus. It is used to cleanse the eyes, the body, and the blood. Aside from cleansing, it can also be used to clear blockades or to bring things that are stuck like energy, for example, to flow again. Additionally, it provides protection. If you happen to own a brown colored agate it's chakra is the root chakra and it aground and protects. Thanks to these effects it would make sense to use it when you seem stuck when solving a problem or when nothing moves on in a project or in life. Using the cleansing aspect of the agate, it makes sense to place it on your solar plexus when you're resting during a detox.


The Chalcedon is used most often on the throat chakra and improves attention and inner calmness. As such a gemstone can be used when you find yourself in a situation in which you need to pay attention and/or stay calm. It could also be used for rituals and meditations that are supposed to push your senses.



If you need to recover and relax the aventurin will be your gemstone. It does not only help with that but also supports you in your search for self-determination and inner balance. It acts against stress, harmonizes and influences dreams positively and is used on the heart chakra. With these unique attributes, it is best used to relax and fir meditation. It's not a bad idea to place this one under your sleeping pillow.


The carnelian stimulates all body functions, makes more sociable, improves powers in the body and strengthens will and courage. It works best on the sacral chakra. One good way to use this gemstone is a vitality bath.


Bernstein is believed to be one of the oldest gemstones used for magic and magical powers. It has been used for protection, healing, and magic and is believed to bring high spirits, strength, and magical power. It is used on the sacral chakra. Combining all these aspects it's the go-to gem that can be used as an amplifier in any ritual.

Snowflake Obsidian

A stone created from the rapid cooling of lava often when meeting water. It is best used on the root chakra. Obsidian finds it's spot as one of the most common materials for magical ritual utensils as it is a strong conductor of energy. It strengthens memory and expands consciousness and senses but also has a healing effect that heals physical and mental or spiritual wounds. It also removes trauma.


The orthoceras shares all the aspects mentioned under the obsidian. This also includes the chakra. This means the orthoceras and obsidian can be swapped depending on the available resources.


The rhodonite has it's the best effect on either root or heart chakra. The chakra depends on which type it is. If it's a dark-colored rhodonite the former chakra will be the best if it's a light rhodonite the latter one will be the best. Regardless of color, they're used as healing stones for all kinds of wounds. It is also used for meditation as it improves and deepens the meditation. It helps to relax and supports the ability to understand and forgive.


The howlite is best used on the crown chakra. It improves the calmness on the highest level but also grounds and prevents emotional outbursts. Additionally, it improves happiness, physical balance, helps against travel illnesses and helps you being one with yourself.

Green/yellow calcite

The rose calcite is used on the heart chakra. Calcites improve inner strength.


This one improves concentration.


So there you have 12 additional gemstones. I'm sorry I don't have much on calcite and fluorite and I lost the image for the Bernstein, but that's all I have noted on my records. I will probably write some more to it at some point when I deal with those two again.
Liked the post? Noticed an error? Wanna discuss the content or leave a comment*? You can join or check into the discord to do so! (*Note: Comments are disabled to avoid saving user data on this website.)
>> Join Discord

About Me

My photo
I'm a B.Sc. Games Engineer and I created this blog to share my ideas, theorycrafting, thoughts and whatever I'm working on or doing.